January 25, 2023

Chief Randy Moore United States Forest Service 1400 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC D.C. 20250-0003

Dear Chief Moore:

We refer you to and emphatically reiterate our letter of February 6, 2022 (copy attached). Almost a year (and one lawsuit) later, we again find it necessary to write you regarding the Forest Service's blatant disregard for the law of New Mexico. As previously established, the laws governing estrays in New Mexico are quite clear. Section 77-13-1 NMSA 1978 et seq. Intentional injury to livestock is a felony. Section 30-18-12 NMSA 1978.

Your actions in 2022 resulted in a lawsuit to prevent the Forest Service from slaughtering cattle in the Gila Wilderness by shooting them from a helicopter. As you know, the lawsuit was settled in July of 2022. Under the terms of the settlement USFS agreed to give 75 days notice before commencing any future sniper operations. We are informed that, following the settlement, USFS engaged with the various stakeholders and the New Mexico Livestock Board to explore non-lethal options for the removal of estrays from the Gila. Now it seems that all those conversations with stakeholders and the New Mexico Livestock Board were fruitless, or that USFS did not enter into the conversations in good faith.

Your 2022 operation resulted in the killing of 63 cattle. We are not aware of how many more you intend to kill this year, but we sincerely doubt that the number would be sufficient to cause any damage to an area as vast as the Gila Wilderness. Your proposed actions are contrary to law. We urge you to seek a more humane and less wasteful method of removing the estrays from the wilderness.

Respectfully submitted,

Candy Spence Ezzell New Mexico State Representative Dist. 58 Ranking Member, House Agriculture, Acequias & Water Resources Committee Rod Montoya New Mexico State Representative Dist. 1

Mark Duncan New Mexico State Representative Dist. 2

T. Ryan Lane New Mexico State Representative Dist. 3

Tanya Mirabal Moya New Mexico State Representative Dist. 7

Brian G. Baca New Mexico State Representative Dist. 8

Stefani Lord New Mexico State Representative Dist. 22

Alan Martinez New Mexico State Representative Dist. 23

William "Bill" R. Rehm New Mexico State Representative Dist. 31

Jenifer Jones New Mexico State Representative Dist. 32

Luis M. Terrazas New Mexico State Representative Dist. 39

John Block New Mexico State Representative Dist. 51 Susan K. Herrera New Mexico State Representative Dist. 41 Chair of House Agriculture, Acequias & Water Resources Committee

Anthony Allison New Mexico State Representative Dist. 4 Co-Chair Agriculture, Acequias & Water Resources Committee

Gail Armstrong New Mexico State Representative Dist. 49 Member Agriculture, Acequias & Water Resources Committee

Kathleen Cates New Mexico State Representative Dist. 44 Member Agriculture, Acequias & Water Resources Committee

Raymundo Lara New Mexico State Representative Dist. 34 Member Agriculture, Acequias & Water Resources Committee

Marian Matthews New Mexico State Representative Dist. 27 Member Agriculture, Acequias & Water Resources Committee

Martin R. Zamora New Mexico State Representative Dist. 63 Member Agriculture, Acequias & Water Resources Committee

James G. Townsend New Mexico State Representative Dist. 54

Cathrynn Brown New Mexico State Representative Dist. 54

Harlan Vincent New Mexico State Representative Dist. 56

Jason C. Harper New Mexico State Representative Dist. 57 Greg Nibert New Mexico State Representative Dist. 59

Joshua N. Hernandez New Mexico State Representative Dist. 60

Randall T. Pettigrew New Mexico State Representative Dist. 61

Larry R. Scott New Mexico State Representative Dist. 62

Andrea Reeb New Mexico State Representative Dist. 64

Jimmy G. Mason New Mexico State Representative Dist. 66

Jack Chatfield New Mexico State Representative Dist. 67

*Signatures on File

CC: Governor of the State of New Mexico Honorable Michelle Lujan-Grisham Lt. Governor or the State of New Mexico Honorable Howie Morales New Mexico Speaker of the House Javier Martinez New Mexico Senate Pres. Mimi Stewart New Mexico Attorney General Raul Torres New Mexico Senate Congressional Delegation New Mexico US Senator Martin Henrich New Mexico US Senator Ben Ray Lujan New Mexico US Senator Ben Ray Lujan New Mexico US Congressman Gabe Vasquez New Mexico US Congresswoman Melanie Stansbury New Mexico US Congresswoman Teresa Leger Fernandez New Mexico US Forest Service New Mexico State Livestock Board – Belinda Garland New Mexico Cattle Growers – Bronson Corn New Mexico Secretary of Agriculture – Jeff Witte New Mexico Farm & Livestock Bureau – Elizabeth Foster Forest Supervisor Adam Mendonca Manager – Gila National Forest New Mexico Sherriff's Departments New Mexico Association of Counties Southwestern Region 3 Regional Forester Michiko Martin US Fish & Wildlife Services – Amy Lueders Congressional Sportsmen's Foundation NRA Tara Mica Secretary Vilsak- USDA – Agriculture